empapelarci

DIY heart embellishment ♥

So I was in the mood for hearts this week, I was cruising the net when I came across a tag which had a couple of adorable heart embellishments by Tim Holtz. I loved them so much that I started to work immediately!

The result was cute and easy and I decided to make a tutorial for everyone to make them too… I hope Tim doesn’t get upset! (love you Tim!) Lol!

Steps:
P1060647

♥ Draw your hearts on a scrapbook paper of your like and cut them out. I used an old strip of wall paper and I chose two different kind of hearts from a stencil.

P1060648

♥ Back your hearts with cardboard to give them support and thickness.

P1060649

♥ I used gold acrylic paint and a sponge for the edges.

P1060650

♥ Then I made an embellishment for the embellishments! I punched out musical notes from an old book.

P1060652

♥ to make these tiny embellishments to stand out I inked the edges before gluing them to my hearts. Can you see the difference between the one inked and the one that isn’t?

P1060655

♥ Last step: I coated my hearts with dimensional acrylic and I let them dry overnight. The dimensional acrylic coat is a highly dense clear coat that resembles glass when it is dry.

P1060713

♥ Here they are ready to use! Isn’t it nice how they shine? And the coat gives them volume too.

embellishment corazon 2 embellishment corazon 1

I painted some tags with glimmer mist (home made!) where I used my new embellishments. Everything was home made using products every scrapbook or cardmaker already has!

😀 happy!

This entry was published on May 1, 2013 at 10:54 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

